pexels-pixabay-459654

SAP Logins (“S” numbers) to the SAP Web Portal

SAP is making changes to its web portal due to GDPR (General Data Protection Regulation). Due to this regulation SAP has added a new field (expiration date) to their user administration screen for tracking what they call “S-User ID Lifetime Information”. 

This blog/email is being sent to our clients to better explain why you may have received a notice from SAP advising you that 1 or more of your user’s access to the SAP portal may be expiring.

In short, when a new “S” number is added to the SAP portal for either a client or Business Partner, the end date is automatically set to 24 months. It is possible to make the expiration date shorter than 24 months and up to 50 months. This does not apply to administrative users. Administrative users are automatically set with an end date of 12/31/9999. Please note that this pertains to use to the SAP portal only it has nothing to do with your having access to SAP Business One perpetual or cloud subscription licenses.

You or some of the users may receive an email from SAP alerting you that 1 or more of your user’s expiration date is approaching over the next 90 days. This means that one or more of the following are happening to at least one of the users who have access to the SAP portal:

  1. 90 days from reference day (21.07.2020) in case never logged on and creation date is more than 24 months ago
  2. 90 days from reference day (21.07.2020) in case last log on was more than 24 months ago
  3. 24 months from reference day (21.07.2020) in case creation date is in the range of 24 months and never logged on
  4. 24 months from reference day (21.07.2020) in case last log in is in the range of 24 months
  5. Date set by administrator during creation.

If you are a client and received an email from SAP advising that 1 or more of your user’s access is expiring means that you are listed as an administrator. What do you need to do?

  1. If you want to keep your access to the SAP web portal active, login to the portal and update the expiration date on the users that you want to continue to have access to the SAP Portal.
  2. If a user’s access is expiring due to not accessing the portal in the allotted time frame described above or is no longer employed by your company, you do not need to do anything. Their user profile will be deleted/removed automatically.

If you are an LBSi client and need further explanation or assistance on this matter, please contact your project manager. If you do not know your project manager you can contact [email protected] for further assistance.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email